Math and Imagination

The Math Playground is a fun educational site with all kinds of games, videos, and info. One of their interactive offerings is Spirograph Math which I just had to try. It brought to mind great childhood memories of times my mom would bring out her old spirograph kit and let my sister and me play with it. We had endless hours of fun creating new designs and painstakingly trying them over and over to get them perfect.

Of course this online version eliminates the need for so much patience and a steady hand, but it does provide more information about the mathematical details involved in each pattern’s creation.For a more hands-on approach, have your students use an actual spirograph kit along with the online Spirograph Math version.

Although in my opinion, these new ones do not hold a candle to my mom’s vintage spirograph that captured my childhood imagination. 🙂

comments and ideas welcome!

